Copa Bridgestone Libertadores

Copa Bridgestone Libertadores

Copa Bridgestone Libertadores is an international soccer competition organized by CONMEBOL (South American Football Confederation). The competition consists of teams from 10 countries in South America, and Mexico. It is the most prestigious club competition in South American soccer and is an extremely popular event, with a history of more than 50 years. The winning team will be entitled to enter the FIFA Club World Cup representing South America.

Past Finalists

Year Winning team Second place team
1998 Vasco da Gama Barcelona
1999 Palmeiras Deportivo Cali
2000 Boca Juniors Palmeiras
2001 Boca Juniors Cruz Azul
2002 Olimpia Sao Caetano
2003 Boca Juniors Santos
2004 Once Caldas Boca Juniors
2005 Sao Paulo Atletico Paranaense
2006 Internacional Sao Paulo
2007 Boca Juniors Gremio
2008 LDU Quito Fluminense
2009 Estudiantes Cruzeiro
2010 Internacional Guadalajara
2011 Santos Penarol
2012 Corinthians Boca Juniors
2013 Atletico Mineiro Olimpia
2014 San Lorenzo Nacional
2015 River Plate Tigres

Copa Bridgestone Libertadores History

In 1960, the Copa Libertadores made its debut as the Champions' Club Cup, an annual championship to determine the No. 1 team among all club teams from member countries of the CONMEBOL.. Originally, each country was represented by a single team. In 1966, the present system was introduced, whereby the two best teams from each country participated. A seeding system was initiated so that the champion from the previous year could join from the second round. In that same year, the name Copa Libertadores was adopted, commemorating the heroes of independence who freed the countries of the South American continent from Spanish colonial rule. In its early days, the tournament was beset by problems such as financial hardship and the logistics of scheduling games across the vast South American land mass. But this contest among the best club teams rapidly attracted legions of devoted fans. In no time at all, the Copa Libertadores became one of the most important events of the year for all of South America's football clubs.